Review of 2017

Mens Cricket

The 2016 season was once again reasonably successful without quite hitting the heights… in the Devon League where 20% of each division gets relegated every year maintaining your position in a division is not to be taken for granted – we continue to be in that select group of clubs in Devon who have a team in the Premier League and the 2nd premier;

  • Our Saturday 1st XI finished fifth in the Devon Premier League. On the final day of the season, there were still six teams including NDCC that could have been relegated. A comfortable victory over Torquay CC saw them relegated and us secure a top half finish. Highlights of the season were Tom Ansell’s two hundreds (including 127 not out against Exmouth on Sponsors’ day), Tom Popham’s consistent batting at the top of the order, Josh King’s leading the bowling attack with 27 wickets from 154 overs, Jack Popham’s match winning 7 for 44 against Exmouth away and Alfie Huxtable’s improvement through the season. Three players represented Devon during the season – Josh King, Jack Popham and Tom Ansell.
  • Our Saturday 2nd XI had a disappointing season in the final season of the 2nd XI Premier Division, due principally to the batting line up missing the previous season’s stars for most of the games, with only the skipper Screechie scoring more than 300 runs in the season. Highlights were Joe Kelly’s 104 not out, Screechie’s 82 and Tim Cooke’s continued baffling of batsmen with his loopy off spin, topping the bowling figures again with 20 wickets from his 107 overs. In the new all-through Devon League, the 2nd XI will start in the D Division East.
  • The Saturday 3rd XI once again maintained their place in the Devon 2nd XI C Division East. The batting honours were spread across a wide group, but the highlight was undoubtedly Ross Clayton’s stunning unbeaten 227 against Kentisbeare on his return from University at Westleigh on the day that Torquay chose not to send their 2nd XI to Instow. Once again the key to our bowling attack was Alastair Ashworth, taking 12 wickets from his 122 overs at an economy of 3.4. Of the youngsters, Kevin Johnson, Archie Popham and Cameron Ford all
    bowled some fine spells and Reuben Windley was excellent behind the stumps. In the new all-through Devon League, this division has become G Division East.
  • North Devon Tarka Ladies retained their position as champions of Devon in the Devon Women’s League – see the Ladies and Girls Report for the full report.

2017 Club Awards

These were presented at the Awards Night at the Commodore Hotel on 12th November 2017.

Bill Shepherd Memorial Cup for the 1st XI player of the year – Tom Popham

CLUB Captain’s Cup for all round contribution – Jess Rogers

Norman Rattenbury Tankard for fielding – Josh King

Cup for the 2nd XI player of the year – Tim Cooke

Roy Tamlyn Cup for the most improved player – Alistair Ashworth

Tom Allin Cup for the breakthrough player of the year – Jay Rothery

Peter Yandel Cup – for club man of the year – Dave Rothery